Mike Bennett

Mike Bennett is a writer who has made several of his horror stories available as free digital audiobooks.

After the Plague: Book 1

A hotel on the outskirts of London in the aftermath of a zombie apocalypse. A brutal couple, Lee and Mandy, arrive in a van with two captive women held as sex slaves. Lee and Mandy think the hotel is abandoned, a place to find food and shelter. However, Terry, a former employee who has made the hotel his own, has other ideas.

A slim volume podcast collection of eleven classic short stories read by Mike Bennett. This podcast features six stories from Saki (H.H. Munro), including Gabriel-Ernest, The Open Window, and Sredni Vashtar. Also included are tales from H.P. Lovecraft, Edgar Allan Poe, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, and a rarely-heard gem from Mark Twain, The Cannibalism in the Cars.

Here you will find stories of Hell and damnation, ghosts, madness, murder, vampires, bizarre hair restoration disasters, and … pigeons, among other things. Hall of Mirrors is a collection of modern gothic tales with a nail of dark humour hammered through its heart; horrible, grotesque and hilarious. So roll up, ladies and gentlemen, and enter the Hall of Mirrors - if you dare.

Is it Peter Reynolds, mild-mannered office clerk pouring petrol through his neighbour's letterbox in the middle of the night?

Is it Wayne Dolan, a man who discovers strange, unsociable uses for his own urine - and an even stranger desire for the lady upstairs with the whip?

Or is it Dusty, a mysterious vagrant who views the world through a pair of 1966 Balorama wrap sunglasses?

Mick Nixon wants to find out, because people are disappearing. And if he and Sally are ever going to share more than just sandwiches, he'd better hurry up, or they could be next.

A reading of H.P. Lovecraft's Cthulhu Mythos novella, published in 1935.

Rumours abound of sinister goings-on in the ancient Massachusetts seaport of Innsmouth. The once prosperous town, which has fallen into a state of decrepitude and decay, is a stopover destination for Robert Olmstead, a young historian on a tour of the region. Despite hearing ominous tales of the town and its grotesque inhabitants, Olmstead feels compelled to explore Innsmouth. He finds the place almost deserted, except for a few inhospitable locals with strange, unblinking eyes - the so-called, Innsmouth Look. He meets the town drunk, Zadok Allen, who tells him the terrifying history of the town, about Devil Reef and mutant humanoids, sea gods, gold, and human sacrifice.

The deranged ramblings of a madman? As night falls on Innsmouth, Olmstead soon has cause to wonder.

Readings of classic short stories, with selections of music.

Underwood and Flinch: Book 1

For hundreds of years, the eldest born male of the Flinch family line has been servant and guardian to the vampire, Lord Underwood. In 1958, a world-weary Underwood lies down to rest for fifty years. Now that the time for his resurrection has come, the world has changed considerably - and so has the Flinch family. David Flinch - the last man to want the role of guardian, is now the first in line for it. He travels to the family home in Spain to face a terrible dilemma: Will he resurrect and serve the vampire as his family expects? Will he pass the role to his murderous sister, Lydia? Or will he do the world a favour, and destroy Underwood before he rises again? David's choice will determine not only Underwood's fate, but also the lives of the people in the nearby town of Almacena and the wider world beyond. Because if Underwood rises - they're all on the menu!

Underwood and Flinch: Book 2

The adventure of Underwood and Flinch continues in this first audiobook sequel to the original story. Having returned to the house in Spain, David Flinch uncovers old audio interviews between his father, Arthur Flinch, and the vampire, Lord Underwood. Through these recordings, David learns what happened to Underwood when he and Matthias Flinch sailed on from where we left them in 1719. A voyage that sees Underwood face new dangers, make new allies, and discover more about the creature of darkness he has become.